Susan Eisenhower leaves Republican party

“I have decided I can no longer be a registered Republican. For the first time in my life I announced my support for a Democratic candidate for the presidency, in February of this year. This was not an endorsement of the Democratic platform, nor was it a slap in the face to the Republican Party. It was an expression of support specifically for Senator Barack Obama. I had always intended to go back to party ranks after the election and work with my many dedicated friends and colleagues to help reshape the GOP, especially in the foreign-policy arena. But I now know I will be more effective focusing on our national and international problems than I will be in trying to reinvigorate a political organization that has already consumed nearly all of its moderate “seed corn.” And now, as the party threatens to trivialize what promised to be a serious debate on our future direction, it will alienate many young people who might have come into party ranks”…read more

4 Responses

  1. I like Ike.

  2. I like Susan. She’s a credit to her family. She carries on the ideals that Ike brought to the office of the Presidency and this country. I am thrilled beyond imagining to see a woman of means and social standing doing what’s right instead of putting her own self-intrest ahead of what’s in the best interest of her country.
    She makes me proud to be an U.S. citizen.
    May God Bless, Susan and her family.

  3. She is demonstrating great courage and honor.

  4. Bless Susan! Although, I’m not a conservative, the “religious base”, is covered in bigotry. Although, I’m a christian, I don’t believe that religion and politcs go hand in hand. I’m considered a RINO, because I stand for Lincoln’s principals. If Lincoln’s principals where never what our party stood for, then I would not be a republican. I’m not going to run away from the conservatives, just so they can have a radical right agenda. Republicans need to go back into the middle.

Leave a Reply

